Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Wrap up of today's HDFL and PDFL NW results

LBU wins a thriller against Leitchville-Gunbower, while Mathoura also prevails in a close match.

GEORDIE COWAN July 12, 2014 6:45pm

Mathoura's Chris Allingham tries to get a handball away against the Deniliquin Rovers.

Lockington-Bamawm United held on against a fast-finishing Leitchville-Gunbower side to claim a vital win in the Heathcote and District Football League, 9.10 (64) to 8.11 (59).

The Cats led throughout the day and indeed held a 19-point three-quarter-time advantage, but could not kick a goal in the last term as the Bombers came within five points at the death.

Daniel Lucas, Marcus Angove and Trent Bacon were all impressive for the home side, while Jonathan Hay kicked three goals.

Jackson McEwen, Jye Keath and Brad Perry tried hard for Leitchville-Gunbower, who now drop to fourth on the ladder.

■ Colbinabbin kept up its faint hopes of playing in the finals after a superb last quarter to defeat Huntly 13.10 (88) to 8.13 (61).

The Grasshoppers booted eight goals in the final term to overturn a seven-point deficit and run out 21-point winners.

Matt Riordan, Lochie Sirett and Tim O’Dwyer were vital to the team’s important win, while Linton Jacobs finished with four goals.

Harry Whittle, Stacy Fiske and Matt Jeffries gave the Hawks some hope, while Alex Demeo kicked three goals.

■ Mt Pleasant kicked four goals to one in the last quarter to prevail against a stubborn Elmore, 14.11 (95) to 9.7 (61).

The Bloods, responding to their 180-point defeat last week, were within seven points of Mounts at half-time before the visitors slowly drew away to win by 34 points.

Kain Robins (four goals) starred for the winners and was ably backed up by Nathan Whipp (three goals) and Matt Filo, while Luke Milroy and Matt Gretgrix also kicked three goals apiece.

Harley Hayes, Phillip Wills and Matt Stokes were named Elmore’s best players, while Luke Clark kicked three goals.

■ The final game saw ladder-leader North Bendigo wallop Heathcote 24.14 (158) to 5.7 (37).

The Bulldogs kicked 12 goals in the first half and doubled their tally in the second half to win by 121 points.

Damien Webb led the way with a superb 10-goal haul, with Jeremy Mills (four goals) and Ryan Alford also impressing.

Daniel Carroll, Mitch McLean and Daniel Russell tried hard for the home side.

Picola and District Football League north-west

Mathoura had to come from behind to win its third match of the season against Deniliquin Rovers, 8.14 (62) to 6.15 (51).

A far cry from the 106-point margin in the first game between the teams earlier this year, the visitors led by 13 points at the first break and five at the last, before the Timbercutters stepped up a gear to win by 11 points.

Andrew Mortimer, Damian Dalziel and Wayne Phyland led the home team to victory, with all its goals coming through Beau Duggan-Hulands (three), Nick Tucker (three) and Dalziel.

For the Rovers, Rhys McCulloch, Marc Braybon and Matt Dowling almost earned them the points.

■ Picola United was kept goalless to half-time as Tocumwal secured a 94-point win, 17.18 (120) to 3.8 (26).

The Bloods finished with more than three times as many scoring shots as the home team, with Michael O’Riordan (five goals) the star of the show.

Eli Boyer and Brad Wilson (three goals) also impressed for the winners, while Dylan Flanagan booted three goals.

Ben Daniel, Clinton Barnes and Kodi Hicks were the best for the Blues.

■ The big scores continued as Berrigan was held goalless after half-time in a belting by Strathmerton, with the Bulldogs running out 22.21 (153) to 2.6 (18) winners.

Adrian Crestani booted eight goals, but it was Josh Evans who was named best on for the victors, with Mark Luci also enjoyed a good day.

Zeke Bunge and Ian Oliver each kicked three goals in the 135-point win, while Ron Middleton, Chris Patten and Braidy Lewis the best for the Saints.

■ The final match saw Jerilderie held goalless for the entire match in a 185-point drubbing, 28.25 (193) to 0.8 98).

Aaron Purcell was back to the form of last year to finish with 15 goals by his name, while Andrew May (five goals) was best on and Casey Hillary also kicked four goals.

Jarrod Hillary was another to impress in the win, as the Demons kicked 11 goals in the final term.

Daniel Clarke, Mitch Richmann and Tom Hollaway tried hard for the Grasshoppers.

Central Murray Football League

Cohuna Kangas leapt above opponents Mallee Eagles into fifth spot on the ladder after winning 11.19 (85) to 8.11 (59).

The visitors were wasteful in the first half after recording five more scoring shots only to have scores level at 29-apiece, but then blew the game apart with a six-goal to none third quarter and went on to win by 26 points.

Jake Thrum, Daniel Paterson and Will Lee (three goals) led the way for the Kangas, while Damien Boyer also kicked three goals.

Martin Kelly, Jordan Bett and Vincent Randello were the best for the home side.

■ Koondrook-Barham stunned the competition to inflict Swan Hill’s first defeat upon it for the year, winning 8.10 (58) to 3.8 (26).

The Raiders, who are now just outside the six, kicked four goals to one in the opening term and still held a 22-point lead at the final break.

The team kicked another three goals to one to complete the inspiring victory, with Brad Heffer, Michael Grant and Shane Guerra leading the way.

Jye Cousins also kicked four goals.

Brendan Blackmore, Jarred Halligan and Spencer McKenzie were the best for the Swans.

■ Balranald earned its third win for the year against fellow stragglers Lake Boga, prevailing 12.20 (92) to 8.16 (64).

The Kangaroos dominated the first half to set up a 50-point advantage and cantered to the 28-point win, led by Dane Fitzgerald, Ben Fuller (four goals) and Bryce Delmenico.

Hamish Hooppell, Nick O’Neill and Ben Coloe were the best for the Magpies, while Brodie Bennett was a lone hand up forward to finish with five goals.

■ Woorinen earned a nice percentage booster with a big win against bottom-placed Tyntynder, 17.20 (122) to 4.6 (30).

The Tigers dominated the match from start to finish, with 10 goal-kickers on the board.

Matt Iannucci continued his stellar season with a good game and was supported by Ben Heenan and Aaron Cadd, while Jamie Nicholas and Doug Palmer each kicked three goals.

Marcus Wattie, Brock Storer and Josh Cheek tried hard for the Bulldogs, with Brad Carroll kicking three goals.

■ The final match saw Tooleybuc-Manangatang boot six goals in the final quarter to run away with a 12.13 (85) to 5.4 (34) win against NNW United.

The Demons did well to be within 11 points of the third-placed Saints at the final change, but failed to score in the last quarter as the home team won by 51 points.

Ryan O’Sullivan, Joel Cullen (five goals) and Josh Stone were the leaders for the Saints, while Brent Daniels, Ash Thompson and Darryl White fought hard for the visitors.

Dane Coburn also finished with three goals.

Check out all the scoreboards of the HDFL and PDFL north-west results in Monday’s Riverine Herald.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Park snaps to it to build croc new home

Much like the 16-year-old teenager who outgrows their childhood bedroom, it’s time for Kyabram Fauna Park’s saltwater crocodile Getcha to upgrade to a larger enclosure.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.