Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Table tennis win for Young Lyons trio

Sam Lyon, Conor Young and Stuart Young won the Geoff Nesbitt Perpetual Trophy for the Echuca Table Tennis Club winter competition.

October 8, 2012 5:11am

Echuca Table Tennis Club members Conor Young, Sam Lyon and Corey Lewis receive the Geoff Nesbitt Perpetual Trophy. Photo submitted

Echuca Table Tennis Club held a presentation night for its winter competition on Tuesday.

The Young Lyons team of Sam Lyon, Conor Young and Stuart Young were presented with the Geoff Nesbitt Perpetual Trophy as winners of the competition, which included nine rounds of matches plus semi-finals and grand final.

Corey Lewis and Richard Ham, who helped out as fill-in players, also received medals, along with the members of runners-up 24 Lane, Tom Quigley, John Eddy and Alex Leitao.

The club championship was also played on the night, with players being divided into A, B and C grade competitions.

Each grade produced one undefeated player on the night.

Ash Button took the A grade honours, while Darren Short won B grade and Conor Young took out C grade.

Young was also presented with a trophy as the most improved player to mark his impressive debut season in the competition.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

A step in the right direction

Victoria Park Lake to be venue for the JDRF One Walk Shepparton to promote the awareness about Type 1 diabetes next month.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.