Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

D'Angelo wins Christmas field and game shoot

Gino D'Angelo beat more than 100 competitors to take out this year's Echuca-Moama Field and Game Club Christmas shoot last weekend.

December 25, 2012 4:04am

Nathan Jobling shoots.


Echuca-Moama Field and Game Club president Tim Finnegan was delighted when 109 competitors attended the club’s 68 target novelty event and Christmas dinner last Sunday.

It was Finnegan himself, with help from George Shawcross, who was largely responsible for the eight station 34 target ground, shot twice by those competing.

While shoot-offs determined placings in several categories, the day’s overall star was Kyabram’s Gino D’Angelo.

D’Angelo shot a modest 28/34 in his first round, before storming to the lead with an amazing 32/34 in round two.

As his missed targets were on the first and last stations, D’Angelo actually shot 29 targets straight during his high gun winning final round.

The day’s other winners included several district members, as well as a cross section of visitors from many other parts of Victoria and NSW.

Some familiar names to win AA grade were Rod Wharton whose 57/68 beat course designer Finnegan by two shots.

Nick Kalogerakis finished third.

Russell Chaplin also shot 57/68 to win A grade and he also had a two-shot margin over Craig Lanyon.

Alan Fletcher held off a host of other high scorers to clinch third place.

B grade winner was district shooter Grant Scott, who has been in good form on most of his recent visits to the range.

He ended the day with a neat 50, four shots clear of his nearest rivals.

Vin Molluso and Shane Norris had to contest a shoot-off before Molluso could claim second, leaving Norris third.

Competition was also tight in C grade, with district shooters Stewart McKenner and Brett Healey shooting 40 apiece.

Assisted by son Oliver’s coaching advice, Wes Draper held his nerve in a shoot-off for third.

Barrook’s Doug Frankling and Stan Archard took the gold and silver in veterans, leaving the consistent Roger Kerslake with the bronze.

Young Chloe Shorland handled the pressure of her shoot-off well, and so ended a comfortable women’s winner after initially finishing level with Vicki Norris.

Ballarat visitor Tarsha Cooper was third in a competitive women’s division.

Capping off a successful year, Jayden Roe shot 57/68 to win under 18 comfortably, ahead of Rhys Martin and another young local, Jake Chandler.

Closer scores appeared in the under 15s, with another D’Angelo beating Dylan Robertson and Sam Spedding.

It was Gino’s son, Jordan, who put together two solid rounds and finished with a credible 47/68.

As well as extending season’s greetings to all at the official presentations, president Finnegan also announced the winner of the two Echuca-Moama Field and Game Club annual perpetual trophies.

The aggregate trophy is awarded to the member whose total targets shot over the year, plus relevant handicap at each shoot, is the highest.

The champion trophy goes to the member with the highest total from their best 20 rounds of 25 targets over the year.

Reflecting a year of regular attendance and consistent performance, both trophies were won by the same shooter, Ricky Keirl.

Keirl’s winning score for the handicap trophy was an impressive 721 out of a possible 825 targets presented to him in 33 rounds over the year.

The win completes a hat-trick of wins in the category for Keirl.

Given that his handicap has mostly been one or two all year, compared to handicaps as high as nine for others, this has been a great effort.

Finnegan finished in second place with a total of 685.

As club champion, Keirl’s best 20 rounds totalled 439, an average score per round of 21.9 per 25 targets.

Next best with a total of 417 was Steve Norris.

Norris was club champion in 2010, and runner-up to wife Kelly last year.

Results: high gun: Gino D’Angelo, Kyabram (60/68) 1; AA grade: Rod Wharton, Deniliquin (57/68) 1, Tim Finnegan, Echuca Moama, (55/68) 2, Nick Kalogerakis, Shepparton (52/68) 3; A grade: Russell Chaplin, Deniliquin (57/68) 1, Craig Lanyon, Bendigo (55/68) 2, Alan Fletcher, Barrook (54/68) 3; B grade: Grant Scott, Echuca-Moama (54/68) 1, Vinnie Molluso, Pinegrove (56/77) 2, Shane Norris, Kyabram (53/77) 3; C grade: Stewart McKenner, Echuca-Moama (40/68) 1, Brett Healey, Echuca-Moama (40/68) 2, Wes Draper, Echuca-Moama (44/77) 3; veterans: Doug Frankling, Barrook (53/68) 1, Stan Archard, Barrook (51/68) 2, Roger Kerslake, Echuca-Moama (53/77) 3; women: Chloe Shorland, Pinegrove (45/77) 1, Vicki Norris, Kyabram 40/77 2, Tarsha Cooper, Ballarat (32/68) 3; under 18: Jayden Roe, Deniliquin (57/68) 1, Rhys Martin, Seymour (43/68) 2, Jake Chandler, Echuca-Moama (26/68) 23; under 15: Jordan D’Angelo, Kyabram (47/68) 1, Dylan Robertson, Echuca-Moama (44/68) 2, Sam Spedding, Echuca-Moama (41/68) 3.

Competition resumes in the new year at 10am on Sunday, January 20, with a 75-target graded event.

Inquiries about all club events and activities can be directed to Tim Finnegan on 0419512248.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Fatal cause doubt

Shepparton Highway Patrol is continuing to investigate a fatal collision near Congupna on Friday afternoon.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.