Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

FCJ cricketers best in the state

FCJ College girls won the Victorian Year 9/10 T20 Blast last month.

December 5, 2013 4:17am

FCJ College state champions, Natasha Blackburn, Bec Robinson, Sarah Osborne, Olivia Osborne, Emily Martyn, Rhiannon Teichert, Chelsea Mailer, Narissa Drane, Katey Pryor, and Alex Davies with Mr Gerrish (coach) and Mrs Chacko (assistant coach).

FCJ College is buzzing after its students won the State Year 9/10 T20 Blast (super eight) girls final last month.

The team travelled to the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday, November 27 to win the state championships in a competition with 127 other Victorian schools.

Emily Martyn opened the batting only to be bowled out for a golden duck on the first ball of the day against their Melbourne opposition.

However, after a slow start the FCJ College girls made great total of 184 runs, to win by 20 runs.

The team qualified for the competition after competing in the Girls MILO Cricket competition in term three.

Two FCJ College teams played in the competition at Seymour, however only one progressed to the next round at Werribee.

Due to inclement weather at Werribee, the team was forced to play indoors. However, the team was unfazed, winning all three of its games to progress straight to the grand final, where they triumphed by 32 runs.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Wetlands replenished after Wunghnu blaze

Water has been returned to Kinnairds and Black wetlands to help with their revitalisation after bushfire damaged them in February.

Leapon discount image

Discover unbelievable local deals from local businesses every week in the Goulburn and Murray Valley area with!

Kensington house

Search properties for sale or rent across North Central Victoria and Southern NSW. Visit your local website for local homes....


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.