Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Knight and Irvine star at WDCA Awards

The Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club came away with a swag of awards at the Wangaratta and District Cricket Association Presentation Night.

STEPHEN HICKS March 25, 2014 4:22pm

Held at the Wangaratta Magpies Clubrooms, the Lakers were well represented and looked resplendent in their blue and gold team shirts.

A Grade all-rounder Matt Knight was named as the Cricketer of the Year for the WDCA; and in doing so became the first Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricketer to win the award.

Knight polled 21 votes to easily win the award. Knight also won the A Grade Bowling Averages with 8.15 runs per wicket. Knight finished Runner Up in the My Cricket Points awards.

Captain Coach Lee Fraser was Runner Up in the Golden Gloves Award, missing out by 1 dismissal. Fraser also finished 3rd in the Batting Averages with 44.25 runs.

In the B Grade bowling awards it was Yarrawonga Mulwala Cricket Club domination.

James Irvine tied with former local Tim Lewis who plays cricket for Milawa for the Bowling Aggregate Award with 34 wickets.

Irvine also finished 3rd in the My Cricket points award; while adding the  Con O’Callaghan Trophy as the Most Promising Cricketer in B and C Grade competition.

While in the Bowling Averages it was a trifecta for the YMCC with James Irvine 3rd with 8.41 runs per wicket, Runner Up was Gary Browning with 8.3 runs per wicket and the winner was Christian Phillips with 7.36 runs per wicket.

A and B Grade opener/wicketkeeper Reid Clarke who played the final two games of the season in A Grade and will feature in the A Grade Grand Final this weekend, finished 3rd in the B Grade Golden Gloves Award.

The A Grade Grand Final will feature Yarrawonga Mulwala against Bruck at the Norm Minns Oval this Saturday and Sunday battling it out for the Geoff Welch Trophy.

Umpires for this game will be Allan Haddrell & Keith Patterson. While the B Grade Grand Final between Yarrawonga Mulwala Rams and Corowa will be played at Barr Reserve Oval 1 for the Des Johnston Trophy. The Umpires will be Jim Davidson and Graham Fawcett.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

SAM director's art will be elsewhere

Shepparton Art Museum director Kirsten Paisley has resigned to take up a plum role at the as deputy director of the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

Leapon discount image

Discover unbelievable local deals from local businesses every week in the Goulburn and Murray Valley area with!

Kensington house

Search properties for sale or rent across North Central Victoria and Southern NSW. Visit your local website for local homes....


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.