Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Energy breakthrough for Seymour College

Another successful weekend at Maryborough.

December 6, 2012 4:29am

The Seymour College Grade Five and Six teams with their bikes and co-ordinator Peter Sawyer and team managers Bruce Story and Rob Taylor, who were presented with certificates of appreciation at a school assembly on Friday.

Gallery: See more photos here.

Seymour College teams had another successful trip to Maryborough recently for the RACV Energy Breakthrough.


Gecko 1: Mariah Baumann, Tyson McNally, Brayden Baker, Cooper Battistin, Sarah Waite, Bryar Goodman, Kaylah Gawne, Fraser Lewis, Callum Sutherland, Angela Andriessen, Ryan Battye.

Gecko 2: Ryan Allison, Tristan McLarty, Codi Hall, Riley Fowkes-O’Connell, Nakita Forrest, Alix Hazelden, Rani Watson, Max Hooper, Dekoedha Barns, Asher Glover, Emily McNeil, Leah Jachim.

Gecko 3: Lucy Zotti, Bianca Schache, Piper Mioni, Elanah Battistin, Sam Durham, Syd Voogt, Lachlan Wright, Brandon Parsons, Dylan Hockley, Kai Furletti, Emma Hogan, Ellisa Grant, Tayte Lewis.

Team Managers: Peter Sawyer, Julie Sawyer, Jenny McInnes, Bruce Story, Rob Taylor.

Results: Our fantastic weekend was capped off by the Gecko Racing teams being presented with the Holden Encouragement Award, which along with the trophy contributes $500 to our entry for next year.

We had a successful event with our combined total of laps for the three teams at 894 laps; it was 59 laps more than our previous best.

That is only 8km shy of 1000km. Gecko 1 completed 310 laps, Gecko 2285 laps and Gecko 3299 laps in the 14-hour race.

This was an amazing effort and achievement from all the children. This was made possible by the generous support of sponsors from the community and parents of participants to ensure a great team performance. All sponsors were recognised with fantastic stickers provided by Burgess Signs for all six of the race bikes. A special thanks to our volunteer team managers, Bruce Story and Rob Taylor.

— Peter Sawyer


Mr Bump team: Joel Durham, Toby Fuhrmeister, Nick Frankel, Shania Anderson, Rhiannon Stute, Abbey Baker, Georgia Baker, Daniel McLarty.

Pitcrew: Sam Adams, James Boland, Casey Drummond, Tiarna Story.

Managers: Nick Frizzell, Greg Gibson.

Results: Runners-up in Triathlon.

YEARS 9/10

Mr Happy team: Morgan Zotti, Sarah Szczykulski, Tenille Stute, Laura Gibson, Bradley Allison, Liam Brett, Jon Frankel, James Price.

Pitcrew: Hannah McLarty, Holly Ponyiczky, Caitlyn Grant, Callum Watson.

Managers: Elizabeth Fuhrmeister, Ian Baker.

Results: Third in the time trial and third overall. Caitlyn Grant won the College’s Best and Fairest award.

YEARS 11/12

Mr Strong team: Hayden Brett, David Rees, Jack Puppa, Sam Fuhrmeister, Annaleese Large, Paige Hockley, Hailley-Denim Monaghan, Sophie Baker.

Pitcrew: Ben Mount, Jeremy Waite, Cody Dare, Ethan Forcier.

Managers: Andrea McKenzie, David Stute.

Results: First in the time trial by 25 laps, achieved 637 (720km) laps for the first time. Mr Strong was the winner overall in the Hybrid class B/C. Hayden Brett and Sam Fuhrmeister received their six consecutive years ‘‘Smithy’’ caricatures from the College.

What a wonderful year of sponsorship from a great bunch of students and the wider community. Special thanks to Veolia Environmental Services, Telstra Foundation, Seymour Toyota and Astute Engineering for your generous funding. Thanks too to Lachlan Itter for his talented multimedia skills. Also, a special mention to our school council president, David Stute, for a superb pedal/electric designed vehicle. This marvellous weekend would not have been possible without the support of staff and parents — many thanks.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

McKenzie is new man at helm of Congupna

Tyson McKenzie is returning to Congupna as senior coach as The Road seeks to turn around their fortunes on the football field.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.