Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Local Murray Valley cricket legends to be remembered

The Murray Valley Cricket Association will induct four more ex-cricketers into its Hall of Fame next year at a special Hall of Fame Dinner.

December 13, 2012 4:06am

Murray Valley Cricket Association 2010 inductees Denis Stokes, Shane Maddox, Harold Evans and Mark Baldwin.

The dinner will be held on Friday, January 25 and will see four inductees join inaugural members Mark Baldwin, Denis Stokes, Harold Evans and Shane Maddox.

The Hall of Fame Dinner will once again honour those who have made a significant contribution in the MVCA and its history since 1953, whether they are a player, administrator or an umpire.

Following on from the success of its inaugural dinner in 2010, the event is a celebration of the association’s history, where by many past players and identities, as well as current players, get together to relive the past and celebrate the impact these ‘‘Hall-of-Famers’’ had on the history.

The MVCA, in its current form, began in 1953 under president Hubert Guthrie and secretary Len Christie.

Interestingly, the MVCA has only had 12 presidents in 60 years, those being: Hubert Guthrie (dec), Gordon Miller (dec), Ted Bott, Les Hocking, David Darby, Denis Burton, Bruce Tuhan, Gary Athanitis, Paul Hyde, Greg Morgan, Dave Hansen and Anton Noble.

There has also only been 10 secretaries, those being: Len Christie (dec), L Bauchan, R Small, Harold Evans, Ron Haley, Ken Wadeson, Arthur Owen, who held the position continuously for 34 years, Terry Langton and Anthony Holmes.

Players of recent times cannot be considered until they have been out of the game for at least 12 months.

The association is now enjoying unprecedented success in representative cricket winning the McPherson Shield, Bendigo and Melbourne Country Weeks and VB Country Plate in the past two seasons.

The MCVA expanded to two grades in 1961-62, juniors in 1970-71 and to four grades in 1987-88.

The Guthrie Medal was introduced in 1976-77 in recognition of Hubert Guthrie, with Shane Maddox being the inaugural recipient.

Teams that have played in the MVCA since 1953 are Barooga, Finley, Berrigan, Jerilderie, Waaia, Nathalia Association, Cobram, Strathmerton, Yarroweyah, Cobram United, Cobram-Yarroweyah United, Katunga, Katamatite, Mulwala United, Tocumwal, Numurkah and Retreat.

The MVCA also continues to maintain a strong Umpires association.

The Hall of Fame will be developed from this history and as the membership grows from year to year, the importance of the event will also grow.

Cricket lovers will get to know and respect the impact that those members had in cricket in this region.

The ‘‘must see’’ Hall of Fame Dinner will be held at Cobram-Barooga Golf Club on Friday, January 25 from 7pm.

The association encourages the public to be there in order to usher these new inductees as well as reliving stories of past glories and achievements.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Neighbourhood lunch sure will sizzle

Neighbourhood Watch Week will start with a sizzle — a sausage sizzle to be precise — at Sevens Creek Dve in Kialla.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.