Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Berrigan Shire's action packed Australia Day

Berrigan Shire Australia Day celebrations will take place this Sunday in the Finley High School grounds.

January 22, 2014 4:19am

2013 Young Citizen of the Year, Shawna Maxwell.

The celebratory day will start with breakfast provided by Finley Lions Club at 8am, which is available for a gold coin donation.

The official ceremony then gets underway from 9am.

There will be three new Australians welcomed on the day by Berrigan Shire Mayor Bernard Curtin.

Master of ceremonies for the morning will be Greg McNamara and the guest speaker will be scientist and former Finley-ite Wayne Rowlands.

Entertainment will be provided by the Finley District Band and Veronica Braybon’s musical group.

The most anticipated part of the ceremony will be the announcement of award winners – including the prestigious Citizen of the Year.

The winners of the community competitions – including the best decorated business window – will also be announced at the community event.

Promotion packs have been delivered to the business houses in the shire and all are encouraged to decorate shop windows to add to the atmosphere of this important day.

There is also a competition being held by the Opportunity Shop for young ones to name the swagman and win a toy or book so call in and enter suggestions.

The celebrations are expected to conclude about midday, so there will still be plenty of time to have a traditional Aussie barbecue lunch with friends afterwards.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Simply the best

Kyabram becomes immortals after capturing the Goulburn Valley Football League against Rochester to cap off an undefeated season.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.