Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Tigers champ takes out best and fairest

Cobram midfielder Tom Crapp has won the club’s best-and-fairest award.

October 2, 2012 4:25pm

Cobram Football Club’s John Lucas (left) got runner up, while Thomas Crapp was awarded Best and fairest.

Cobram captain John Lucas, the 2010 and 2011 winner, was runner-up and Ryan Bongetti was third.

Crapp enjoyed a very consistent season. His ability to read the game, high possession tally and remaining calm under pressure did not go unnoticed by the people who pick the votes.

Crapp, in his first season at Cobram, was an integral part of the Tigers’ resurgence in the second half of the Murray Football League season.

He along with Lucas, Bongetti and Mat Hyde (fifth) lead a midfield that provided plenty of forward entries for Cobram this year.

When presenting the award Cobram coach, Rob Osborne spoke highly of Crapp’s ability, professionalism and the positive influence he and Mat Hyde had on the playing group since their arrival at Cobram.

In accepting the award Crapp said he had thoroughly enjoyed the season and was looking forward to playing on next season.

Seconds coach Phil Bourke won the reserves best-and-fairest from another veteran in Glen Kelly, with Jye Latessa in third place.

Bourke lead the reserves team by example as he used his experience and fitness to advantage throughout the season.

A life membership was presented to Jacquie Ryan during the evening.

An emotional Ryan thanked her family for their support. She also took pride in the fact that her uncle Jim and grandmother Winifred are also life members.

Former player, coach, president and selector Phil Bunn presented the Les ‘‘Salty’’ Parish award to Mat Hyde.

Bunn and Ivan Smith, who represented the Fitzroy Past Players, presented Hyde with a Fitzroy Heritage Jumper with the number 27 worn by Parish on the back.

Coach Rob Osborne spoke at length about his appreciation of the opportunity Cobram Football Club gave him in 2010 to coach the club.

In doing so Osborne announced his decision to step down from the coaching position.

Osborne cited the work commitments and further study he is undertaking next year as the main reasons for his decision.

Osborne is undecided about his playing intentions next season but seems likely to make a decision in the near future.

President Mick Hoban was awarded the best club person award for his tireless efforts during the season.

Hoban, after four years at the helm, will stand down as president but plans to remain on the committee.

Under his reign the Tigers have played finals in three of the four seasons narrowly losing the preliminary final in 2010 and the MFL grand final to Deniliquin in 2011.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Simply the best

Kyabram becomes immortals after capturing the Goulburn Valley Football League against Rochester to cap off an undefeated season.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.