Covering the Goulburn and Murray valleys

Region celebrates Australia Day

Residents gathered at numerous events across Benalla and district to celebrate Australia Day.

January 31, 2014 11:50am

Good neighbours: The ‘Gray St’ mob — Jenny DeFazio, Phil Chrimes, Sue Fowles, Ron Fowles, Sandie Chrimes, Julie Bell, Roger Bell and Emmy DeFazio.

Residents gathered at numerous events across the district on Sunday to celebrate Australia Day.

Celebrations were held across Benalla Rural City as winners of the local Australia Day awards were announced.

Mayor Barbara Alexander said Benalla Rural City had many amazing community members who gave up their time to make the region a better place to live.

‘‘The Australia Day awards are just one way of recognising these wonderful people, but it’s a way for us to thank them for their commitment and dedication to helping others,’’ Cr Alexander said.

‘‘Our community could not achieve what it does without their outstanding efforts.’’

Barry O’Connor was awarded Benalla Rural City Citizen of the Year and Lima/Swanpool Achiever of the Year for his significant achievements for the Swanpool and district community.

Benalla Rural City Young Citizen of the Year was Sam Heywood, for demonstrating the qualities of an excellent leader through local service to the community and social justice contributions to those less fortunate.

Sabine Smyth was awarded Benalla Achiever of the Year for her work on the Benalla Migrant Camp Photographic Exhibition, which was awarded Benalla Rural City Community Event of the Year.Benalla Rural City Australia Day award winners

Benalla Rural City Citizen of the Year:

Barry O’Connor

Benalla Rural City Young Citizen of the Year:

Sam Heywood

Benalla Rural City Community Event of the Year:

Benalla Migrant Camp Photographic Exhibition

Benalla Rural City Community Group of the Year:

Swanpool and District Community Development AssociationAchievement award winners

Baddaginnie Achiever of the Year:

Lyle Cook

Benalla Achiever of the Year:

Sabine Smyth

Devenish Achiever of the Year:

Stephen Davies

Goorambat Achiever of the Year:

Bill Pauwels

Lima/Swanpool Achiever of the Year:

Barry O’Connor

Tatong Achiever of the Year:

Dennis Scott

Thoona Achiever of the Year:

Pauline Brown.

comments powered by Disqus
Shepparton logo

Summer to stand as independent

Greater Shepparton Deputy Mayor Fern Summer quits nursing job to run as an independent at July's Federal Election.

shepp mags

The News magazines are online - read high quality magazines in your time. Check in regularly for the latest editions.

Echuca mag

Riverine Herald's well regarded locally produced magazines. They're now online, so you can read them whenever and wherever you like.


Search for published and unpublished photos from McPherson Media Group newspapers and magazines. All our photos are available to purchase.


Place an advertisement in any one of McPherson Media Group's local newspapers.